Leave of Absence

It’s been awhile since I’ve put pen to paper outside of work to do anything besides make weekly grocery lists. In all fairness, I’ve been preoccupied with other things. I finished my first year of grad school, Levi and I bought a house, and I’ve been acclimating to a new job. With deadlines and home improvement projects and meetings, I assured myself it was fine to push writing to the back burner for awhile. The busy won’t last forever and the busy is now. Right?

Nope.

There will always be something else.

I have effectively been using my busyness as an excuse to not write. And the longer I have put it off, the less sure I have become about jumping back in. As the days have turned to weeks, and the weeks have turned to months, I’ve started to question myself, my angle, and the very syntax of my sentences. So my logical solution was to throw myself further into home remodeling and work deadlines, while peppering in some social activities and traveling. As time passed, I diligently reassured myself that I’d get back to writing when things slowed down again. It would be just like the awful cliche of riding a bike – right? I could just pick up a pen and a piece of paper and go?

I remembered one Saturday morning in college when I biked 12 miles after not riding a bike for a few years. I could do it, but mannnn was it painful afterwards.

And I decided that’s the only way to start again.

Whatever you’ve been putting off – or finding what you think is a very plausible excuse for – stop it. Whether it’s postponing a project, not calling an old friend, or keeping yourself from doing something you love, don’t delay any longer. It might not come as easily at first as it once did, but the only way to get back into it is to stop making excuses and start making time.

P.S.

Working / running in the ABTA 5k
Working / running the ABTA 5k
kayaking the Charles River in Boston
kayaking the Charles River in Boston
Wedding season is in full swing!
Wedding season is in full swing
Leave a Reply

